Fun with Old Film

As some of you may know, I collect old cameras, particularly box and folding cameras, which hold some odd sort of sway over me for reasons I don’t fully understand. In any case, as I shop for these, I occasionally discover a spent roll of film inside the camera body, undeveloped, forgotten sometimes for more than 70 years.

I’ve blogged previously about Gene M., the gentleman who inspired me to take my own chances on rescuing these found images. Gene has been incredibly generous in answering my questions, and I am grateful for his assistance. I’m a complete novice at this, and he remains the master. Please check out his site.

#2 cartridge hawkeye 2

On this round, I was working with four rolls of old film: 1) a roll of Kodak Verichrome Pan 120 from a Kodak #2 Cartridge Hawkeye (see above image and the “Fun with Old Film” page to the right for images); 2) an unidentified roll of 120 film (marked “B2-8”) found in another box camera; 3) a roll of Panchromatic 127 found in a Brownie Starmite; and 4) a roll of Plenachrome 127 found in a Brownie Reflex. Roll #2 was a disaster–entirely black and perhaps mildewed after processing. Roll #3 is badly damaged and may not be scannable. Roll #4 had no old images on it, but I shot the rest of that roll with images of Griffin and me that may be scannable.

See this space for updates as they occur.

~ by ericplaag on August 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
