Long Overdue, Part One

No, I have not dropped off the planet. Just overwhelmed lately.

I have many things to relay today, at long last, but in the interest of maintaining some semblance of sanity here, I’ll divide them up into nice, bite-sized chunks.

First…what the heck have I been up to lately, at least photographically?

*As it turns out, one of my images from the But One Man Alone… series did win an Award of Merit in the USC Student Art Competition in March. I was delighted to have my work recognized and honored in this competition once again, but I was even more pleased to have my work seen in such good company. Diana Farfan’s gorgeous piece Too Much Hope took home Best in Show and fully deserved to do so. You can see it here.

*Two of my images, both from the 2007 series entitled The Price of Patience, sold in the USC Art Auction in mid-April.

*Argument, a 2006 print that won Third Prize in the Black and White Photography category in MediaFest 2007, was auctioned earlier this month to benefit United Way of the Midlands at the opening festivities for Columbia’s new (and only!) full-service photography store, The F-Stop.

*I received news today that two of my images from last year’s Coastal Landscape Photography field course at LUMCON (the Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium) were published in the 2007 Jubilee Anthology. Images taken each May during this remarkable one-week field experience are intended to document the impact of coastal erosion and rising sea levels on the fragile barrier islands of Louisiana.

*I am currently hammering out final details with the USC Arts Institute to put some of my work on display in the Institute’s exhibit space at the Sumwalt Building on the USC campus. Work should go up no later than the second week of June. Stay tuned for more details.

~ by ericplaag on May 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
